Beef Noodle Soup to Die for at Lin Dong Fang Beef Noodle Soup(林東芳牛肉麵)

taipei_lindongnoodles_kitchen

Writing one of these restaurant reviews always tough since it can easily escalate into a religious war. By making such a bold statement as the title of this post, I’m half expecting a flaming pile of dog crap to show up on my front porch tomorrow night. It’s a risk that I’m willing to take on your behalf in order to bring you these fantastic pictures.

taipei_lindongnoodles_noodles2

I came upon Lin Dong Fang Beef Noodle soup completely by accident. If it were not for an insistent taxi driver, I would’ve easily overlooked this place and it’s nondescript, greasy spoon atmosphere on the side of the street. The truth is, it was 1:00 am and I was hankering for some beef noodle soup(牛肉麵).  After a failed attempt to take night pictures as the National Chiang Kai-Shek memorial, I jumped into a cab and asked the driver to take me to his favorite beef noodle soup shop. After some unintelligible conversation in my American-laced mandarin, I found myself at the doorstep of Lin Dong Fan Beef Noodle Soup(林東芳牛肉麵) located at No. 274, Section 2, Bādé Rd in the Zhongshan District of Taipei.

taipei_lindongnoodles_greasysign
In Taipei, there’s just about no way you can go wrong with Beef Noodle Soup. Even the most nondescript and downtrodden place will make it the way “the right way.”  In fact, I was even told that the the famous KTV chain, Cashbox, is known for whipping up some pretty darn good beef noodle soup. A great alternative if everything else is closed.

taipei_lindongnoodles_noodles

What makes Lin Dong Fan so good is their broth. Unlike traditional braised beef/soy sauce flavor broth, they have added in a twinge of Chinese herbs to give it a distinct flavor. Usually I’m not one for Chinese herbs, ever since my parents scared me with some foul tasting concoctions when I was young. But for some reason, when the Chinese herbs are paired with the soup base, it just feels so right. In addition, the beef is tender with just the right amount of toughness and chewiness that it really goes down nicely. My recommendation is to add a dollop of hot sauce to give it some extra kick to really make your night.

taipei_lindongnoodles_tofu

taipei_lindongnoodles_kitchen_color

While there are other dishes on there, we didn’t really get a chance to try them. The waiters did recommend this tofu dish which he says is what they are known for. After eating their beef noodle soup, I beg to differ.

Verdict
Do yourself a favor and try Lin Dong Fang, it’s a totally worthwhile experience that will make you fall in love with the city of Taipei. Prices are reasonably cheap with the small bowls running 180NT($6 USD) and the big bowls running 240NT($8 USD). Again, no tip and tax.

Lin Dong Fang Beef Noodle Soup(林東芳牛肉麵)
taipei_lindongnoodles_map

Address No. 274, Section 2, Bādé Rd, Zhongshan District, Taipei City, Taiwan 104
Phone +886 2 2752 2556

 

2 thoughts on “Beef Noodle Soup to Die for at Lin Dong Fang Beef Noodle Soup(林東芳牛肉麵)

Leave a Reply

